As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.
The 7 best cordless chainsaws, by the wood they can really cut
Updated
Short version: for firewood and storm wood up to about 14 inches, I'd pick the EGO CS1613. It is the one saw here whose maker says what the cut count was measured on. For bigger wood, the Husqvarna Power Axe 350i has an 18 inch bar and the largest battery, and makes no cut claim at all. For limbs and pruning, the WORX WG322 weighs 6.2 pounds. If you own DEWALT or Milwaukee batteries, the DEWALT DCCS621P1 and the Milwaukee 2527-20 Hatchet use them.
Not sure what bar you need? Run the calculator first.
Quick comparison
| Model | Bar | One-pass wood | Battery in box | Cuts per charge claim | 10 in hardwood log cuts (our estimate) | Chain speed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EGO CS1613 | 16 in | About 14 in | 56V 4.0Ah | Up to 130, on a 4x4, per the listing and EGO's page | About 13 | 20.0 m/s |
| Greenworks 40V 16 in | 16 in | About 14 in | 40V 4.0Ah | Up to 120, wood not named on the maker page | About 12 | 34.5 ft/s (10.5 m/s) |
| Husqvarna Power Axe 350i | 18 in | About 16 in | BLi30 pack, 36V 7.7Ah per the maker | No cut count on the listing or maker page | No claim to convert | 38.7 ft/s (11.8 m/s) |
| DEWALT DCCS621P1 | 12 in | About 10 in | 20V 5.0Ah | Up to 100, wood not named on the listing | About 10 | Not stated |
| WORX WG322 | 10 in | About 8 in | 20V 2.0Ah | No cut count on the listing we read | Bar too short | 12.5 ft/s (3.8 m/s) |
| BLACK+DECKER LCS1020 | 10 in | About 8 in | One 20V MAX pack. Amp-hours not stated | No cut count on the listing we read | Bar too short | Not stated |
| Milwaukee 2527-20 Hatchet | 6 in | About 4 in | None (bare tool) | Up to 120, wood not named. Bare tool, battery sold separately | Bar too short | 5.0 m/s |
"One-pass wood" is the bar length minus 2 inches, a common rule of thumb. BLACK+DECKER's own page follows it: a 10 inch bar, an 8 inch cut capacity.
"Our estimate" means this. A 4x4 post is 3.5 inches square, so each cut goes through 12.25 square inches of wood. A round 10 inch log is 78.5 square inches, which is 6.4 times as much. We add half again for hardwood, which is our assumption, and get 9.6. Then we divide the maker's cut count by that and round down. It treats every claim as a 4x4 claim. Only EGO says that in writing. It is a planning figure, not a measurement.
Claimed cuts per charge10 in hardwood log cuts (our estimate)
- EGO CS1613130 cuts13 cuts
- Greenworks 40V 16 in120 cuts12 cuts
- DEWALT DCCS621P1100 cuts10 cuts
The picks
Specs and owner feedback checked on Amazon September 19, 2026. Cut counts and chain speeds come from each listing or the maker's own page, as noted.
EGO POWER+ CS1613 16 in Chainsaw Kit (4.0Ah)
Get this if you cut firewood or storm wood up to about 14 inches and want the one maker here that tells you what its cut count was measured on. Skip it if you only trim small limbs. It is more saw than that needs. The listing headline says up to 220 cuts per charge, but the same bullet says up to 130 cuts on a 4x4 with the included 4.0Ah battery. On a 10 inch hardwood log we estimate about 13 cuts per charge.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 16 in bar. 3/8 in pitch, .043 in gauge chain with 56 drive links
- 56V 4.0Ah battery and standard charger in the box
- Claim: up to 130 cuts on a 4x4 with the included battery, per the listing. EGO's own page ties 130 cuts to a 2.5Ah battery
- Chain speed up to 20 m/s. Maker calls it a 40cc gas equivalent, which is a claim
- Tool-free chain tensioning dial. Automatic oiler. Kickback brake with a brake position indicator
- IPX4 weather rating per the listing. 5-year tool and 3-year battery warranty per EGO
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it cuts through thick trees and 4 inch limbs easily, runs quietly, and is easier than starting a gas saw. One reports about 150 cuts per charge.
- They complain about: The review summary we read was mostly positive. The main tradeoff is weight, which gets mixed feedback.
Good
- Names the wood behind its cut count
- Fastest stated chain speed here
- Chain size is printed in full, so replacements are easy to match
Watch out for
- Headline cut count is for a bigger battery than the one in the box
- Listing and maker page tie 130 cuts to different batteries
- Owners are split on weight
Greenworks 40V 16 in Brushless Chainsaw Kit (4.0Ah)
Get this if you want a 16 inch bar, tool-free tensioning and a battery that fits other Greenworks 40V yard tools. Skip it if you need to work past one charge in a day, since the maker page lists a 120 minute recharge. Greenworks says up to 120 cuts per charge and does not name the wood. If that was a 4x4, a 10 inch hardwood log works out to about 12 cuts per charge by our estimate.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 16 in bar. 3/8 in pitch. The maker page pairs it with a .043 in gauge, 56 drive link replacement chain
- 40V 4.0Ah battery and charger in the box
- Claim: up to 120 cuts per charge. Wood not named
- Chain speed 34.5 ft/s (10.5 m/s) per the maker page
- Tool-less tensioning. Automatic oiler with a clear window. Electronic chain brake. Metal bucking spikes
- 9.28 lb on the maker page, 10.36 lb on the listing. 3-year tool and battery warranty
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners praise the battery life and the power, which some compare to a gas saw. They like the button start, the light weight and the quiet running.
- They complain about: The review summary we read was mostly positive. The main tradeoff is the slow charger. The maker page lists a 120 minute recharge.
Good
- Same chain size as the EGO, so chains are easy to find
- Electronic chain brake and low-kickback design per the listing
- Battery works across the 40V line
Watch out for
- Cut count does not say what was cut
- Slow charger
- Listing says it handles wood up to 28 in and the maker page says 30. That means cutting from both sides, which is not beginner work
Husqvarna Power Axe 350i 18 in Chainsaw Kit
Get this if your wood runs up to about 16 inches and you want the longest bar and the largest battery on this page. Skip it if you are new to chainsaws and only have limbs to clear. A shorter bar is lighter and easier to control. Husqvarna prints no cut count at all. It gives a chain speed and points to a runtime chart, which we think is the more careful way to do it.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 18 in bar. X-Cut S93G chain, 3/8 in mini pitch, .050 in gauge per the maker
- BLi30 battery and charger in the box. Maker lists the pack as 36V 7.7Ah (about 277 Wh). The tool line is labeled 40V
- No cuts per charge claim on the listing or the maker page
- Chain speed 38.7 ft/s (11.8 m/s) at max power per the maker
- Tool-less chain tensioning. Chain brake with an indicator light. Boost mode for 25 percent more power per the listing
- 7.72 lb on the listing. It does not say if that includes the battery
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners praise the power, the light weight and the easy start. One mentions cutting 32 inch logs with it.
- They complain about: Battery life and durability get mixed feedback. Some owners report dead batteries, and some say it did not hold up.
Good
- Longest bar here
- Largest battery here
- No inflated cut count to decode
Watch out for
- Different chain gauge than the EGO and Greenworks, so check before you buy spares
- Some owners report battery failures
- More bar than a first-time user needs
DEWALT DCCS621P1 20V MAX 12 in Chainsaw Kit
Get this if you already run DEWALT 20V MAX tools and your wood is limbs and logs up to about 10 inches. Skip it if you want tool-free tensioning. DEWALT's page lists a tensioning tool in the box. The listing says up to 100 cuts per charge and does not name the wood. Treated as 4x4 cuts, a 10 inch hardwood log comes out to about 10 per charge by our estimate, and that log is also the most this bar should take in one pass.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 12 in low-kickback bar and chain
- Kit with one DCB205 battery and a charger per the listing. DCB205 is DEWALT's 20V MAX 5.0Ah pack
- Claim: up to 100 cuts per charge. Wood not named
- Chain speed not stated on the listing or maker page we read
- Tensioning tool and bar sheath in the box per DEWALT. Brushless motor
- 12.7 lb on the listing, which looks like a boxed weight. 3-year limited warranty per DEWALT
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners call it a good fit for trimming branches and small jobs, and like the light weight, the battery life and how easy it is to use.
- They complain about: Oil leaks split owners. Some report none. Others say the saw leaks bar oil all over the place.
Good
- Battery fits a very large tool line
- Light, compact saw per owners
- Low-kickback bar and chain
Watch out for
- Cut count does not say what was cut
- Tensioning needs a tool
- Some owners report bar oil leaks
WORX WG322 20V 10 in Chainsaw Kit (2.0Ah)
Get this if your jobs are pruning, fallen limbs and small logs up to about 8 inches, and you want a saw that weighs 6.2 pounds. Skip it for firewood. The chain runs at 12.5 ft/s, which is 3.8 m/s. The EGO runs at 20 m/s. WORX prints no cut count, and with a 20V 2.0Ah battery in the box that is fair enough.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 10 in bar
- 20V 2.0Ah PowerShare battery and charger in the box, per the listing's comparison chart
- No cuts per charge claim on the listing we read
- Chain speed 12.5 ft/s (3.8 m/s)
- Automatic tool-free chain tension. Automatic oiler with an oil level indicator
- 6.2 lb per the listing
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it does well on small jobs, with some cutting 5 inch logs easily, and like how light it is.
- They complain about: Battery life gets mixed feedback, from hours of light work to very short use. Some owners say the chain comes off often, and opinions on power are split.
Good
- Light
- Auto-tension means no tool and no guesswork
- Battery fits other WORX 20V tools
Watch out for
- Slowest full-size chain here
- Small battery
- Some owners say the chain comes off often
BLACK+DECKER LCS1020 20V MAX 10 in Chainsaw Kit
Get this if you prune a few times a year and want a small, plain saw with tool-free tensioning. Skip it for anything you would call a log. BLACK+DECKER is the one maker here that prints the bar rule for you: its page gives this 10 inch saw an 8 inch cut capacity. Some owners mention using it overhead because it is light. Do not. CDC says to cut at waist level or below.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 10 in low-kickback bar and chain. Maker states an 8 in cut capacity
- One 20V MAX battery and a charger in the box. The listing we read does not state amp-hours
- No cuts per charge claim on the listing or maker page
- Chain speed not stated
- Tool-free chain tensioning. Oiling system. Lock-off button and front hand guard
- 6.8 lb per the listing
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it works well for small jobs and trimming, has surprising power for its size, and is easier than a handsaw or axe.
- They complain about: Battery life gets mixed feedback. Some call it excellent and others call it extremely short.
Good
- Maker states a real cut capacity
- Tool-free tensioning
- Battery fits other BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX tools
Watch out for
- Battery size is not stated on the listing
- Owners are split on battery life
- No chain speed given
Milwaukee M12 FUEL Hatchet 6 in Pruning Saw (Bare Tool)
Get this only if you already own Milwaukee M12 batteries and a charger, and your work is pruning. Skip it if you expect it to stand in for a chainsaw. Milwaukee says it has the power to cut 3 inch hardwoods and delivers up to 120 cuts per charge. That count is for pruning-size wood with a 4.0Ah battery that is sold separately. It says nothing about logs.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 6 in Oregon bar and chain. 3/8 in low profile pitch, .043 in gauge, 28 drive links
- Bare tool. No battery, no charger. Maker names the M12 XC 4.0Ah pack, sold separately
- Claim: up to 120 cuts per charge. Maker says it can cut 3 in hardwoods
- Chain speed 5 m/s per the maker
- Automatic oiler with a clear reservoir. Chain tensioner uses the included scrench. Metal bucking spikes. Variable speed trigger
- 4.1 lb per the maker. 3-year limited warranty
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it cuts through bigger branches than they expected and is easier to handle than a larger saw.
- They complain about: Durability gets mixed feedback, with some reporting gear failure within two months. Battery life is also split, with some saying a pack lasts only about 5 minutes.
Good
- Light and compact
- Full chain specs published
- Variable speed trigger
Watch out for
- Nothing to run it with in the box
- Tensioning needs a tool
- Some owners report short battery life and early gear failures
Before you buy any battery chainsaw
- Measure your wood first. The thickest piece you plan to cut sets the bar. See what size bar you need.
- Ask what the cut count was counted on. If the listing does not say, assume small softwood lumber. See cuts per charge explained.
- Check what is in the box. "Bare tool" or "tool only" means no battery and no charger. No saw here ships with bar oil mentioned on its listing, so plan to buy some.
- Write down the chain size. Pitch, gauge and drive links. You will need all three to buy a spare chain. See chain speed, pitch and gauge.
- Budget for safety gear. Chaps, eye and ear protection, gloves, boots and a hard hat. See safety gear and storm cleanup.
Before any cut
- Gear. CDC lists a hard hat, safety glasses, hearing protection, heavy work gloves, chainsaw chaps from the waist to the top of the foot, and boots that cover the ankle.
- Height. CDC says to always cut at waist level or below. Canada's workplace safety centre says do not saw above shoulder height. No ladders.
- Bar nose. Kickback starts when the top of the bar tip touches something. Know where the tip is at all times.
- People. CDC says keep others at least 30 feet from anyone cutting limbs or a fallen tree, and at least 150 feet from anyone felling a tree.
- Battery saws are still chainsaws. They are quiet and start with a button. The chain does not care. Take the battery out before you touch the chain.